New bike day was about two weeks ago and after two hundred miles of riding I am loving my Trek Emonda ALR 6. The ALR 6 is a aluminum version of Treks carbon Tour de France stage winning Emonda. Don’t be fooled by the aluminum frame though, this bike is not heavy. She weighed in sub 18 pounds, with bottle cages, pedals, Garmin mount, and tools underneath the saddle. Right from the beginning the part that was most outstanding was the crisp shifting,the ALR 6 is fully equipped with a Shimano Ultegra groupo. In addition the ALR comes stock with tubeless ready wheels for those epic dirt road adventures. The only thing that I changed from the stock build was a Specialized Power saddle, and a Stages power meter on the left crank arm.
ModigALR2
Tracking that data with a Garmin 500 and Stages Power meter.
Being a mountain biker at heart, this bike saw dirt it’s first ride and continues to ride the popular dirt road loops in Fort Collins. Even with 23mm tires the ride was smooth, and I don’t mean smooth in comparison to a time trail bike I mean smooth like my cyclocross bike. This is partly because of the carbon seat post and fork. I am continually impressed after every ride, from fast group rides to long days in the saddle. I have been comfortable while having a quick bike under my legs. The ALR has Trek’s H2 fit, meaning that the rider position is a bit more upright than their full race H1 fit. That being said the acceleration and climbing abilities were outstanding. The compact gearing (50/34) is awesome for the steep climbs in and around Fort Collins, there is a lot to be said about be able to sit while climbing north dam.
MOdig ALR
The 25mm tire handle winter riding like a champ.
This bike has been great for everything I have thrown at it so far. Climbing, descending, dirt, long distance, and town line sprints have all come at ease for a price point that is unmatched, MSRP $2200. A bike like this has no problem keeping up with every rider in your home town on his S-Works Venge. Remember its the indian not the arrow. For an incredible price and even better ride this is a great training, racing, KOM stealing ride. For me it was love the second I threw my leg over her.
-Ride on, Jonathan
DSC00586
